Just another WordPress.com site

Posts tagged “physics

china have own space station on 2024

China will be the only country to have International Space Station by 2024


The largest artificial habitat present in the space, the International Space Station will retire in the year 2024 while China is developing its own version of International Space Station (ISS). According to reports from China Aerospace Science and Technology Corporation (CASC) China might be the only country to boast an International Space Station and entire world will rely on its service for space research.

China has started launching modules of space lab in the form of Tiangong-1 and Tiangong-2. China launched Tiangong-2 space module using Long March 2F rocket from the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center at 14:04 UTC on September 14, 2016. China is also preparing Tianhe-1, a core space station module for the launch in 2018 which will be lifted by the most powerful Chinese rocket — Long March 5.

Several other launches will be made in coming years to complete the modular space station and by the end of 2024 it will be the only space station in service, believes CASC which is a major space developer.

China’s modular space station will be made of several modules including one core module and two lab modules. What’s striking is that the space station will have several docking ports for spacecrafts.

According to reports, it will orbit the earth at an altitude of 400 km and will have a lifespan of 10 years. Initiation of blueprint for the Chinese space station dates back to 1992 when scientists made a three-step strategy and it took them nearly three decades to make it a reality. With this, China will become the second country after Russsia to have developed a space station.

At present, scientists look towards International Space Station for space research. ISS was launched back in 1998 and since then it is the largest artificial body present in the space. It orbits Earth at an average altitude of nearly 400 km and it can be seen through naked eyes. It completes 15.54 orbits per day. The ISS serves as a microgravity and space environment research laboratory in which crew members conduct experiments in biology, human biology, physics, astronomy, meteorology, and other fields. Moreover, the ISS programme is a joint project among five participating space agencies: NASA, Roscosmos, JAXA, ESA, and CSA.


thanks: The TeCake.

dedicated by: Kavignar Thanigai.



THANKS: The Hindu:Oct>4.2015.

5 things to know about the Nobel Prizes

In this April 17, 2015 photo, a national libray employee shows the gold Nobel Prize medal awarded to the late novelist Gabriel Garcia Marquez, in Bogota, Colombia. This year's Nobel season kicks off on Monday with the Medicine award.

The beginning of October means Nobel Prize time, when committees in Stockholm and Oslo announce the winners of what many consider the most prestigious awards in the world.

This year’s Nobel season kicks off on Monday with the medicine award being announced for the 106th time.

Daily announcements will follow during the week with physics on Tuesday, chemistry on Wednesday and probably, though the date has not been confirmed, literature on Thursday. The 2015 Nobel Peace Prize will be announced on Friday and, finally, the economics award on October 12, 2015.

Each prize is worth 8 million Swedish kronor ($960,000) and will be handed out with a diploma and gold medal on December 10.

Who created the Nobel Prizes?

The prizes in medicine, physics, chemistry, literature and peace were established by the will of Alfred Nobel, a wealthy Swedish industrialist and the inventor of dynamite. The first awards were handed out in 1901, five years after Nobel’s death.

The economics award officially known as the Bank of Sweden Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel wasn’t created by Nobel, but by Sweden’s central bank in 1968.

Though it’s handed out along with the other prizes and the criteria for selecting winners are the same, it’s not a Nobel Prize in the same sense.


The Nobel statutes prohibit the judges from discussing their deliberations for 50 years. So it’s probably going to be a while before we know for sure how judges made their picks for 2015 and who was on their short lists.

The judges try hard to avoid dropping hints about the winners before the announcements, but sometimes word gets out. Last year, there was a sudden surge in betting on literature winner Patrick Modiano in the days leading up to the announcement.

The peace prize committee has accused its former secretary of breaching the code of silence in a new book, which describes some of the discussions leading up to the awards during his 25-year tenure.

Who can nominate?

Thousands of people around the world are eligible to submit nominations for the Nobel Prizes. They include university professors, lawmakers, previous Nobel laureates and the committee members themselves.

Though the nominations are kept secret for 50 years, those who submit them sometimes announce their suggestions publicly, particularly for the Nobel Peace Prize.

That’s how we know that German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Pope Francis, former NSA contractor Edward Snowden and imprisoned Saudi blogger Raif Badawi are among this year’s 273 nominees.

The Norwegian connection

The Nobel Peace Prize is presented in Norway while the other awards are handed out in Sweden. That’s how Alfred Nobel wanted it.

Sometimes relations have been tense between the Nobel Foundation in Stockholm, which manages the prize money, and the fiercely independent peace prize committee in Oslo.

What does it take to win a Nobel?

Patience, for one. Scientists often have to wait decades to have their work recognized by the Nobel judges, who want to make sure that any breakthrough withstands the test of time.

That’s a departure from Nobel’s will, which states that the awards should endow “those who, during the preceding year, shall have conferred the greatest benefit to mankind”.

The peace prize committee is the only one that regularly rewards achievements made in the previous year. According to Nobel’s wishes, that prize should go to “the person who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses”.